Mash-Up Monday – The Princess Bride Book Tag

Hey everyone! This is a late post because, for some strange reason, I’ve been having a super off and not so good day today. But, I did start a new job, so don’t be surprised if you see some erratic posting times from me.

Something that I’ve been wanting to do for a very long time now is start coming up with my own tags. As much as I love being tagged by others (Don’t feel any need to stop tagging me or anything like that. I will still be doing other tags.), I wanted to occasionally come up with my own tag ideas and questions.

I’m really mixing things up on this blog, but hopefully it’s all for the better.

This week I decided to come up with some questions focussed around The Princess Bride. I’m a huge fan of the movie and book, and this is something I’ve considered putting together for awhile.

I’m sure this tag already exists out in the blog world somewhere, but I haven’t come across or been tagged in one yet. I mean no offense to anyone who has created and/or participated in a tag like this already. I simply craved to do the same myself.

On with the tag we go…

Buttercup:

A character that didn’t know their true feelings until one day they realized when another character was saying “As You Wish” what they were really saying was “I Love You.”

IMG_2091.JPG

I haven’t used Ari and Dante in a tag for awhile now (go me). But, I finally caved, because it’s perfect for this question. Ari doesn’t realize what he has in Dante until his feelings are pointed out to him, and then his world is flipped all around.

Westley:

A character that would come back from “Mostly Dead” for their true love.

IMG_2093.JPG

For this question, I had to go with Ron Weasley. He’d absolutely come back for Hermione. I couldn’t stop thinking about when he leaves Her and Harry in The Deathly Hallows and then finds his way back.

Inigo Montoya:

A character hell-bent on revenge.

IMG_2094.JPG

This one took me a little bit of thinking until I came up with this book by Stephen King. At first I was just going to include the story “Big Driver” in this question. However, after further thought, all 3 stories in this book focus heavily on the concept of revenge and the characters taking that revenge.

Fezzik:

A character that appears tough but is actually a big softie.

IMG_2095.JPG

This was another hard one for me to pick for. You’d think with me creating this tag, I would have created easier questions to answer. Then again, I’ve always been a complicated asshole. I decided to choose Deadpool because even though he’s a crude, ruthless, egotistical bounty hunter, he can be quite the softie. Especially when it comes to Spider-Man.

Prince Humperdinck:

A character too conceited for their own good.

IMG_2096.JPG

I had to go with Mr. Wickham on this one. I know; I use P&P way too much, but… He’s arrogant and horrible and doesn’t deserve all they sympathy he gets. I did really want to find a character that was more similar to Prince Humperdinck, but, alas, this was all I could come up with.

Count Tyrone Rugen:

“The Six-Fingered Man”
A character who’s all talk but cowardly in action.

IMG_2097.JPG

Okay. I had to pick Harry Potter again for this one because how could I pick anyone other than the brave and courageous Gildory Lockhart. He’s perfect for the part of all talk and no action.

Humperdinck + Rugen:

A villainous duo who stand no chance of succeeding.

IMG_2098.JPG

This was another question that I struggled with. (Even though I’m the one who freaking came up with these questions. What am I doing to myself?) So, instead of a duo, I simply picked a memorable enemy that never stands a chance. The Daleks will absolutely never destroy The Doctor. There’s no way. The end. (It works to since The Doctor almost always makes a fool of the Daleks that think they’re oh so smart.)

Miracle Max + His Wife:

An OTP you know will be together forever.

IMG_2100.JPG

I know this doesn’t totally count. But, I figured since I own a few The X Files books, that I can get away with mentioning my favorite OTP, Mulder and Scully. I have no doubt these two are “Till death do us part” all the way. (Can you spy the two lovebirds making out in the background?)

Westley + Buttercup:

One of your favorite OTPs.

IMG_2101.JPG

Blackheart and Goldenloin ALL THE WAY. I love those two. Gahhhhhh.

Vizzini:

A smart villain you wish hadn’t been killed off so early.

IMG_2102.JPG

Another one I’m kind of cheating on because Star Wars isn’t really a book. But, William Shakespeare’s Star Wars is a book! So, I’m justifying this one. Judge me all you want, but I’ve always had a soft spot for Darth Maul. I have ever since I was a little girl (I wanted to dress up as him for Halloween, but my mom wouldn’t let me), and the soft spot has remained. He deserved more.

Minister + Albino:

A character that offers perfect comedic relief.

IMG_2103.JPG

This is another book I talk about way too much. But, Ford Prefect honestly offers the perfect comic relief. Heck, the whole book is comic relief. Satire at it’s best.

The Ancient Booer:

(Yes, that’s honestly what that dream witch is credited as.)
A character that serves as a warning to the Main Character.

IMG_2104.JPG

For this one I went with the monster in Tad’s closet that is, ultimately, foreshadowing of Cujo. Sadly, no one believes him, and Tad is forced to face his monster alone.

BONUS! The ROUSs:

A myth that turns out to be real/true.

IMG_2105.JPG

What’s not awesome about finding out that mermaids are real? That’s why I had to choose this one. Of course, this may have been the easiest question, but I tried to challenge myself and choose a book I don’t talk about too often.

I Tag:

Erika @erikainbookventureland
@thebookgasm
Ayunda @teaandpaperbacks
Shivalika @whimsyjournals
@theorangutanlibrarian
Charley @booksandbakes1
Heather @thesassybookgeek
Emma @thebookbrief
Miriam @thereadingbelle
Evie @justanotherbelle
April @swimmingthroughliterature
And, even though I know she doesn’t do tags, but just because I want to tag her:
Summer @xingsings

I also tag YOU!

I wasn’t sure who all likes The Princess Bride, so there are absolutely no obligations to do this. And, if you’re not tagged, I encourage you to participate if you want to!

Please don’t be too critical of this tag. It was my first time trying to put one together. Still, I had fun and will most likely be trying to come up with more new ones 😛

Up Tomorrow: Top Ten Tuesday

Other Links to reach me at: Instagrambooklrnon-book Tumblr.,Goodreads,Twitter.
Follow me on Snapchat: Smashleyyy92.

Happy Reading!

14 thoughts on “Mash-Up Monday – The Princess Bride Book Tag

  1. Sorry you’ve been having an off day, but your tag responses and pictures were awesome, full of fantasy, which made me happy. 😀 😀 I haven’t read Ari and Dante yet, but now I’m really curious about it.

    Liked by 1 person

  2. Congrats on your new job! Ahh this is such a cool tag- I’ve never seen it before! It’s so awesome cos I love the film!! And Wickham is a great choice- you can never use Pride and Prejudice too much! Great post! And thanks so much for the tag 🙂

    Liked by 1 person

      1. Oh awesome- sorry I’m so ditzy sometimes! It’s awesome that you made it!! I really do love the film- I try to share it with as many people as possible cos it’s a bit of a random one! You’re welcome!! And thanks again! 😀

        Liked by 1 person

  3. I feel like I really should read Aristotle and Dante soon. I see it in practically everyone’s post! I heard it’s a bit like Simon VS… or not?

    Oh no! I hope you’ll have a better day, Ashley! Eat your comfort food or watch an old-time favorite movie, maybe? But congratulations on getting your job! I hope it will somehow bring positive to this day. 🙂

    And thank you so much for remembering to tag me! I love being tagged as well and I love it even more to see new book tags being created. 😀

    Liked by 1 person

    1. I’ve never read Simon VS…, so I’m not really sure if they’re similar. But, I do love Ari and Dante. It’s a very low-action story but it’s a gripping read with beautiful language. You should definitely check it out!
      I definitely ate comfort food and did some tv show binging after that bad day, haha. Thanks for the well-wishes!
      You are so welcome for the tag! 😀

      Like

Leave a Reply

